Triggered

Triggered: Marriage Equality

My life has been spent in a proverbial hole in the wall town with one stoplight and one mindset. Where country music rules and tradition is law there isn’t much room for anyone with a different opinion than that of a long-standing Republican who flies a rebel flag in his front yard. That being said, I love my hometown. I often find my opinions being somewhat different from my fellow small towners. This is the view of marriage equality (gasp!) from the mind of a true southern belle.

For starters

I am a proud Christian from a Southern Baptist church. Religion is a huge factor in all things, but especially in marriage equality. Leviticus 18:22 says: “Thou shall not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it [is] an abomination.” In the wise words of Forrest Gump: “That’s all I have to say about that.”

We shall survive.

People all across the nation are either rejoicing or crying about the supreme court ruling making gay marriage legal in all states. From a political and government standpoint (religious views aside) I agree with this decision. Why so many people are getting unbelievably butt hurt about a decision that won’t personally affect them is beyond me. Yes, my grandpa is rolling over in his grave and waving his confederate flag while screaming a few choice words to President Obama, but that doesn’t mean I should take a stand against the man. Legalizing gay marriage isn’t the end of the world. God has a reason for all things. All you Christians out there passing judgment need to take a seat and dust off old King James.

Happiness.

Being a perpetually happy person with a sunny outlook on most things, I think that everyone should have the chance to be happy. That happiness shouldn’t be restricted to whom they can and can’t marry. Sue and Susie getting married at the local chapel is not going to affect my views or me. I can think it’s wrong, I can think its right, either way it’s not going to matter what other people have done when my life is through. Let everyone be happy. Let people marry whom they want. It is not gonna personally effect you, so stop whining about it.

Let freedom ring.

Now I know what you’re thinking: “You actually think this is okay? I thought you live in the south? You don’t think this is the end?” As already stated, I live in southern small-townsville, which gives me a healthy dose of southern pride and patriotism. We live in the best country in the world, in the land of the free and the home of the brave. The last time I checked, freedom didn’t have restrictions limited to who you can or can’t marry. If we are going to live in a truly free nation, we have to realize that everyone deserves the right to be with whom they want, regardless of how you personally feel about it.

Listen to Martina.

June 26, 2015 is a day that made history. It’s a day that our kids and grandkids will memorize time and time again for some history exam. It’s a day when I worked at my mind-numbing job while watching my town in uproar. It’s a day when people’s lives changed and it’s a day when love won. Whether you agree or disagree with what happened that day, you have to live with it. We can all take some advice from the queen herself, Martina McBride: “Let freedom ring, let the white dove sing let the whole world know that today is a day of reckoning. Let the weak be strong, let the right be wrong…”

Straight from the handbook.

So here is my real take on the situation: if you’re a Christian and are less than happy about the ruling, that’s fine. But if you’re going to use the Bible to justify shaming and hateful treatment of gay people, then you’d better sit down and take another look at the good book. By acting this way you are being just as sinful as you believe they are. All sins were created equal. Aren’t we supposed to love the sinner and hate the sin? All of this bashing and judgment going on by people who I would consider friends in Christ is worse than the actual situation at hand.

Mark 12:31 says, “Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no greater commandment than these.” We, as Christians, need to show the world that we love and support all people, regardless of their lifestyle choice. Let go and let God. Let go and let live.

Leave a Reply

