Uncategorized

I Love You Little Brother

When you were born, I didn’t quite understand. You see, I was a kid myself and there were things I didn’t want to share. There were times when I wished you weren’t around. There were moments when I asked mom and dad when you were going back to the hospital. The longer you stayed, and the more we got to play, the more my heart began to thaw. Now, we aren’t little kids anymore and I really do love you most of all, but there are some things I need to tell you, and some apologies I need to make. This is for you, my dear little brother.

I’m sorry

I’m sorry, little brother. I’m sorry for all the times you asked me to play, and all the times I said no. I’m sorry for getting mad when you called me “sissy.” I’m sorry for all the times I ignored you for my friends. I’m sorry for not taking you enough places, and for not showing you enough things. I’m sorry for all of the times I yelled at you and all of the times you didn’t really understand why. But most of all, I’m sorry for all of the time I wasted not getting to know you and not letting you know me.

Thank you

Thank you, little brother. Thank you for all of the laughs we shared and all of the memories we made. Thank you for being my partner in crime, for always wanting to play and for letting me have the best toys. Most of all, thank you for teaching me how to love someone unconditionally, even though I didn’t always know what that meant.

I am so proud of you

I am so proud of you, little brother. I am so proud of the person you are becoming, and of the man who I know you will be. I am so proud of you for reaching for your dreams, and for always achieving them. I am so proud of you for making the baseball team. And the basketball team. And the football team. I am so proud of you for always having good grades (even better than mine). I am so proud of how caring and considerate you are. Most of all, I am so proud of you for being you and never apologizing for it.

I completely forgive you

I forgive you, little brother. I forgive you for breaking my favorite doll. I forgive you for pushing me in the dirt a thousand times. I forgive you for telling Mom on me every single time. I forgive you for blaming me even though it was your fault. I forgive you for not letting me come in your room all of those times. I forgive you for never letting me play your games or use your toys. I forgive you for all of those things and everything more because I know you were just doing your best, and it was more than enough.

I love you

I love you, little brother. This is something that I hope you already know, but that I definitely don’t tell you enough. Before you, I didn’t understand why my friends would get mad if I teased their little brothers, but then you came along and I could finally comprehend. I love you to the moon, little brother, and I always will. No matter how far we stray from each other, or how many times we fight, or how mean we are, I will always be here for you and I will always wipe your tears. There are lots of things that I still need to teach you, and plenty of secrets that we need to share. I promise you that I will try to be better. I promise I will always be your sissy because I love you most of all.

Leave a Reply

