I Need To Say Thank You

I Need To Say Thank You: Best Friends

You’re the ones who have listened to all of my stories. You’re the ones who starred in those same tales. You’re the ones I met in kindergarten and slept in the fort with. You’re the ones who stuck by me in middle school when I wore tie-dye crocs. You’re the ones who walked into freshman year with me, and you’re the ones who fearlessly conquered high school with me by your side. You’re the ones who went to Sonic with me at 2 a.m. during finals. You’re the ones who will stand by my side on my wedding day. You’re the ones who will help me tell our adventures to our kids. You are my best friends and this is a letter of thanks to you.

Thank you for helping me tie my shoes on our first day of kindergarten and making me smile for the rest of the day.

Thank you for still being my friend when I wore camo cargo pants and blue sparkle eye shadow.

Thank you for making me talk to the cute guy I liked freshman year even though you knew he was a jerk.

Thank you for letting me date jerk face despite your feelings because that was a lesson that needed learning.

Thank you for drying my tears and binge watching stupid TV together when jerk face dumped me.

Thank you for helping me compile an epic summer bucket list and knock off every crazy task.

Thank you for encouraging me to apply to any college I wanted even though that would put us miles away.

Thank you for always spending breaks together because nothing could keep us apart.

Thank you for sharing my love of “One Tree Hill” during that stupid lecture and making the professor “shush” us for talking.

Thank you for helping me find Math 112 on the first day of class and walking with me every day since.

Thank you for singing insanely loud to the radio with me at 3 a.m.

Thank you for accepting me for who I am.

Thank you for standing beside me on my wedding day, because I know that you will.

I want to thank you for all of these things, but most of all, I thank you for the thousands of laughs and millions of memories I will never forget. Thank you for always sticking by my side and growing with me. Thank you for pushing me to do everything you always knew I could, but most of all thank you for experiencing those same things with me. Thank you for helping me write the most epic stories and take the best adventures. These are the tales that we will tell our children and laugh in shock at how stupid we didn’t know we were being. Maybe we will tell these stories side by side together just like always, but if we do utter them apart because time and life have pulled us in different directions, know that as I recount our journey I am thinking of you and I am thanking you always for everything we have encountered and every single memory we made.

Leave a Reply

